stepping out

Went shoe shopping today which is something I don’t do all that often, because … well, let’s get real.  My feet?  Not the glamorous, pointy-toe, stiletto heels shoe type … or, as my friend, Leila calls them, ‘CFM shoes’ … and if you don’t know what that means … I ain’t tellin’ y’all [ahem].

Sadly, there’s nothing I can do about the irreversible fact of less-than-perfect feet.  It being what it is, I’ve stopped losing sleep over it.   I remember as a child school shopping with my mom and driving her to utter distraction in our quest to find wide-width loafers.  Digressing … as I’m wont to do … I remember one year after having marched all over Sears, Kmart, and JCPenneys for hours … we found the most adorable pair of little deep olive green penny loafers.  Man.  When I wore those little shoes into the classroom, I felt like the cat’s meow. 

Anyway.

Flash forward a few decades and today, I decided it was getting to be that time again to break down and see what was out there for feet with the general dimensions of  scuba fins.   Now.  I’m going to pause for a moment here. If all comes to pass and I end up in Savannah in 2010, I don’t want y’all lookin’ at my feet to see if what I say is true. Promise? 

I mean it.

So.  This afternoon I’m out scouting for some cute, clunky shoes … for purposes of this mission, y’all need to envision Born-style shoes, okay? … lo and behold I stumble upon some really snappy Eastland loafer-style, cloggy-type shoes  in a nice brown leather.  Oh girls.  They’re the shazizzle.  Truly. 

But the big news of the day?  In the ever-circular world of fashion, did y’all see what’s back on the market?!  Espardilles.  ESPADARILLES.  Pardon me while I observe a moment of reverent silence.  I had an endless array of espadrilles back in the mid-80’s … along with, of course, the requisite Candies … but espadrilles, dadgum … you could buy them in every color to go with anything.  The most versatile … and comfortable … shoes ever known to (wo)man.  Ever.  And they’re back.  Oh my.

Now if we could just lobby to get back the Earth shoes of the 70’s.  Yes. I loved those too.

One thought on “stepping out

  1. You know, Lisa, funny you should mention Earth shoes. I remember them fondly too! But recently I actually had the chance to try some on at an ultra-organic kind of shoe store (you know, where everything costs triple-digits?) Apparently someone has bought the Earth shoe design/name and is marketing them to these kind of shoe stores. I tried them on excitedly aaaand…they are *so* uncomfortable to me now! As a kid, I guess adjusting the angle of my foot/ankle was no big deal, but geeez it bothered me as a mid-ager. I had a hard time walking comfortably. Sigh.

Leave a Reply

