yo, tim gunn

Have you ever had a day where you knew that when you got dressed in the morning, you were garbing yourself in something entirely unflattering … and yet you did it anyway?

Or.  Maybe that’s just me.

Picking out something to iron this morning, I came across a pink suede-y kinda jacket that I haven’t worn in awhile.  I pulled it out of the closet, gave it a once over, and thought, ‘hey, I’ll give it a whirl.’  Sistahs, there was a reason I hadn’t worn it in awhile.  I blame my poor judgement on the fact I hadn’t yet had my Tim Horton’s coffee and clearly wasn’t thinking rationally.

Firstly, I am so not a color kinda gal.  I rarely … mark that very rarely … ever wear bright hues. It’s just not me, not my style.  Not that I even have a style.  

But.

Think blacks, browns, khakis, burgundy, gray, safari greens … and you’re talking my game.  I revel in neutral, muted, deep earthy colors.  I have a gatrillion-and-one pairs of khaki Dockers … cause y’all know you can coordinate khaki with anything.  And black shirts?  Make that a gatrillion-and-two.

Secondly, you’d think I’d know that I should never buy something off the Kohl’s discount rack that was marked down from $70 to $15.  Umm.  There is a reason they’re slashing the price 79%.  I should have listened to my inner Tim Gunn on this one. 

Oh yes indeedy.

So today I ironed and actually put on said clearance rack Pepto-Bismol-pink jacket.  With khakis, of course.   But it wasn’t until I was halfway to the office … past the point of no return … that I finally asked myself … girl, what were you thinking?

I hate it. I feel awful wearing it.  It sets a really bad tone for the whole day.

Ironically, I walked into a co-worker’s office this morning and she said, ‘Ooh I love that jacket!  I haven’t seen you wear it in awhile?’.  I kid you not.  I felt like asking her if she liked the pink jacket better than the burlap feed sack with the hemp belt I wore last week.  Truly. It’s on the same par. 

Is it 5:00 o’clock yet?

2 thoughts on “yo, tim gunn

  1. I love the fashionistas you have accompaning this particular blog. Was your pink jacket in the same vein? You were cutting edge, then! Why didn’t you offer the jacket to your co-worker who loved it? It is better to pass on fashion mistakes than have them hanging in your closet waiting for your next mistake to wear it.

  2. I’m afraid I need a photo before I can comment.

    But I bet you look cuter in pink than you give yourself credit for. ;o)

Leave a Reply

