i heart bacon

The swine flu outbreak has sparked widespread fear — so much so that Egypt has ordered the slaughter of the country’s 300,000 pigs, even though no cases have been reported there.

OHNOTHEYDI’INT?!

Over a quarter of a million innocent pigs?  That’s some really scary stuff. 

Alright I know my outrage isn’t based on purely altruistic feelings about the ham beast.  Honestly?  I love bacon.

Love bacon

I love the smell of bacon … the sound of sizzling bacon … the crunchy, crispy bits of bacon and the chewy fatty pieces. 

And don’t y’all get me started on honey-baked ham.

I’m sorry.  I’m practically swooning here.

Anyway

My friend, C., is an Arab Muslim.  When we go out to dinner, she has to be very conscious of asking if something as simple as a stuffed mushroom is made with any pork.  She tells me, according to Islam if she knowingly eats, as she lovingly refers to our friend, ‘swine’, that it is an unforgivable sin.

Unforgivable.

My oh my, that’s pretty darn harsh.

I told her she needs to come to the dark side of Christianity.  We are instructed to eat fish during Lent.  Imagine a religion that actually encourages you to consume McDonald’s filet o’fish on Fridays?  I am 100% unequivocally buying into any religion that supports my bad habits.

I am.

But back to the poor pigs.  I wonder what destroying them is going to do to the price and availability of bacon? 

I’m just sayin’ …

Leave a Reply

