editing my life

This week I feel like I’m flying on one wing.  Seven days of fruitless, never-ending circles flapping about on a single wing. 

Work has been overwhelmingly busy which … in the big scheme of things like The Sick Economy … is a good thing. 

I know, I know. 

STOPYERCOMPLAINING.

However.

I’ve also been crawling into bed much too late.  Okay, fine.  I know I’m being dramatic.  However, those that know me are well aware that I don’t function at peak capacity … or even marginally close … without my requisite 7 hours of sleep. 

Alright.  8 hours.  

Geesh.  I only lied because the truth seems so … well … lame.  And weak.  Awfully, embarrassingly weak.  The past several nights I’ve averaged about 5.327658 hours of sleep.  But hey.  Who’s counting?

Whining shall end about … NOW.

Anyhoo.

I’ve attempted to peck out a blog on no less than three separate occasions the past few days.  Ultimately, when my brain ceased spinning a cohesive yarn, I shoved all of my Jon & Kate Plus 8 ramblings into Ye Olde Draft Folder.  The blogs haven’t seen the light of day since.

Pitiful.

Or.  Maybe not so much for those who are more than a bit weary of that drama.  After re-reading those drafts, I’ve deduced that I have nothing even remotely profound to say on the Pennsylvania couple’s situation that hasn’t already been hashed and re-hashed since the Divorce Announcement episode that aired on Monday.

Nada. I got nada.  So I’ll spare you the torture.

Today, I’m taking the route of Mrs. Lazy Blogger.  I’m going to simply present y’all with yet another Good Reading Recommendation. 

Dum dum dum duuuuuum.

I know y’all will thank me some day. 

Y’all mark my words.

One of my favorite Life-As-it-Relates-to-God authors is Donald Miller. Me loves Donald Miller.  He completes me.

Alright.  Maybe that’s a bit extreme.  But.  I love his easy, ‘real and honest’ style of writing.  His simple … yet intricately complex … grasp on the topic of faith.  Whenever I finish one of his books I sigh contently.  And smile.  And think, ya’ll know we make it so much harder than it has to be.

We do.

As I anxiously await the September 22nd release … let the countdown reflect 3 months now… of Diana Gabaldon’s ‘Echo in the Bone’, I began trolling for information on my other favorite authors, hoping for something good I could get into my hands in less than 90 excruciatingly painful days.

And.

I see Donald Miller has another book soon-to-be-released.  Yes. In September.  I can see already September is going to be a pretty special month, folks. 

Ohmymymy … it is.

The praises of Donald Miller, author of ‘Searching for God Knows What’and ‘Blue Like Jazz’, should be shouted from the rooftops.

Hear ye, hear ye. 

So.  To get a little flavor of Donald Miller’s writing style, below I’ve snipped an excerpt from his upcoming book … 

‘A Million Miles in a Thousand Years: 
What I Learned While Editing My Life’
.

 

Not all the scenes in my life have been pleasant though, and I’m not sure what God means with the hard things.  I haven’t had a lot of hard things happen, not like you see on the news, and the hard memories I’ve had seem like random experiences too.

When I was nine, for instance, I ran away from home.  I ran as far as the field across the street where I hid in the tall grass.  My mother turned on the porch light and got in the car and drove to McDonalds and brought back a happy meal.  When she got out of the car, she held the bag high enough I could see it over the weeds.  I followed the bag down the walkway to the door and it shone under the porch light before it went into the house. I lasted another ten minutes.  I sat quietly at the table and ate the hamburger while my mother sat on the couch and watched television. Neither of us said anything. I don’t know why I remember that scene, but I did.  And I remember going to bed feeling like a failure, like a kid who wasn’t able to run away from home.

I dig Donald Miller. 

Because he talks to me.  And not at me.  Because he tells a story, winding it the fabric of faith so you can see it and feel it … and understand it.  And because his writings always make me take a deeper look into my own faith.

3 thoughts on “editing my life

  1. My only problem with this blog is you beating yourself up for not being one of those people who function well on five hours of sleep an night every night. Those people are annoying, don’t you think? LOL Obviously, I’m not one of them. So what if you need eight hours of sleep to really function well. Are you going to be judged for needing it? Hmmm…. I wonder?

  2. I think people who sleep less than 8 hours a night are just pretending to be tough. Yeah. Just like I’m pretending not to be jealous that there are people who CAN function well on little sleep. 😉

    I am not, nor ever have been, a napper. I just can’t get into naps. They make me all weird (okay … more weird) when I wake up. But I do get a little weepy and irritable when I don’t get good (read: 8 hours) of sleep.

    Sadly, my highlight of the next 24 hours is going to be planning to sleep in until 8:00 am tomorrow morning! Oh Lord. Thank you for a really comfy bed.

  3. I’m one of your people…..you know, the one who has to have 8 hours, but would love to functin on 5 or 6. And like you, I am so sleeping in ’til 8 a.m. tomorrow! Wish we could meet at Timmy’s or SB tomorrow a.m. for java and tawk 😉 Sleep well!

Leave a Reply

